Gimparoo!

Smultron FTW!

Posted in Uncategorized by Scott on December 30, 2007

I do a lot of coding in C, Perl, HTML, CSS, and coming this semester, Java. I’ve used vim pretty much exclusively, but have recently started wanting to use my mouse when it’s feasible. So, I started looking around and being disappointed for one reason or the other with each of the offerings. First, I tried TextWrangler which almost did it except I didn’t like the way it handled Perl syntax highlighting, and I didn’t like the automatic indenting implementation. I tried a couple of the commercial selections such as TextMate and SubEthaEdit, but seriously, if I have to pay for them, I’ll just stick to vim. Then I found Smultron. It does a nice job of syntax highlighting and the automatic indent is implemented just the way I like. There is page after page of customization options. It’s also open source, which you all know I love. When I’m accessing my server remotely, vim will still work of course, but for homework and projects, I’m giving Smultron a try.

Tagged with: , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dalloliogm said, on January 1, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Well, you can also enhable mouse support on vim, or try emacs with the -nw option.

    Anyway, thank you for the tip, I will give it a try.

  2. reine said, on July 20, 2008 at 4:10 am

    on linux you have gedit, really nice, nedit, jedit, and so forth… wuy make simple when you can make it complicated!!!. Reine.

  3. DD said, on May 23, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    If you code Java try Eclipse it’s THE IDE for Java…
    every Java-Project I met uses Eclipse…

  4. electronic cigarette liquid ingredients said, on October 31, 2012 at 8:54 am

    Your writing form is really unique, you should think
    about writing for money.

  5. pass a urine test said, on November 7, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    You should think about writing for cash on the net, you have a
    exceptional writing voice.

  6. products services said, on January 31, 2013 at 9:26 am

    My brother recommended I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

