Gimparoo!

Orton Effect

Posted in Uncategorized by Scott on February 13, 2007

For today’s adaptation, I’m not going to single out any one particular tutorial because there are many good ones, and they’re all a bit different. If you want the Photoshop method, I advise you to do what I did, and google it.

Foxglove Foxglove redux

So, here we go.

Like I said, most of the tutorials I found differed in slight ways, but rely on the same basic things: having an overexposed layer blurred and blended with the original photograph. The blending is where the differences occur, and I’ll discuss them in a minute.

  1. First, make 2 copies of the background layer. You can rename them if that helps you. I left them as Background copy and Background copy #1.
  2. Set Background copy #1 to Screen mode. Merge the newly overexposed layer down. This gives you your overexposed layer.
    layers1
  3. You should now just have 2 layers: Background and Background copy.
  4. Click Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur. You’ll want to experiment with different blur radii to find the one that suits you best. Click the RLE method radio button and OK.
  5. Change Background copy to Multiply. Here’s where the different tutorials diverge. Most use multiply, but to achieve a lighter or darker effect, you could choose the Soft or Hard light modes. I’d say it’s a matter of artistic taste, and to go with whatever looks good to you. I used multiply for this tutorial.
  6. The final step is to change Background copy layer opacity. Again, this is a matter of taste. I used 82% for this tutorial.
    layers2

Here’s the before and after:
Foxglove Foxglove redux

You can also experiment with the dodge and burn tools on the top layer to achieve different levels of brightness or darkness. Be creative!

Please visit my flickr page to see the larger version. Thank you for following along!

Tagged with: , ,

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rick said, on February 13, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Thanks, you’ve hit on a great idea, converting PS tutorials to Gimp. I would like to make one recommendation. If you could put before and after photos side-by-side, that would be useful.

  2. viuks said, on February 14, 2007 at 1:08 am

    Nice. But I agree with Rick, side-by-side would be perfect

  3. Scott said, on February 14, 2007 at 6:42 am

    My wife said the same thing. Thank you all. I’ll revamp the posts to have this feature and include it in all additional posts.

  4. rabsteen said, on February 14, 2007 at 11:52 am

    solid. in the future, you should start with the before and after pic as well, to show us what affect this tutorial offers and why it would be interesting. but, continue on! i’m loving them.

  5. Gordon Lucas said, on May 18, 2007 at 4:37 am

    This idea of converting PS tutorials to Gimp is FANTASTIC. Thank you from us GIMP users!

  6. Jesus Rendon said, on July 21, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Hey, thanks for your tutorial, I’ve used it and I’ve posted a picture here…

    Jennifer & Jessica

  7. L’effet Orton sélectif « PHOTOS_PK said, on November 23, 2007 at 9:10 am

    […] et pour les fervents des logiciels libres, l’effet Orton sous The Gimp. […]

  8. […] Orton Effect, a GIMP tutorial by Gimparoo! […]

  9. archos said, on May 11, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Thanks. This help me a lot!

  10. […] about the Orton Effect in GIMP. […]

  11. Post-Processing Tutorials - Page 4 said, on October 31, 2009 at 4:25 am

    […] Orton Effect and Another one […]

  12. […] by rick020200 Here is my first attempt at the "Orton Effect" which I learned about from several […]

  13. Buena Old said, on July 13, 2011 at 3:27 am

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours https://gimparoo.wordpress.com/2007/02/13/orton-effect would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

  14. The Orton Effect said, on September 27, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    […] […]


Leave a Reply

